About The Property
555 S. Washington Street #100
The historic Colonial property of 555 S. Washington Street was originally built in the early 1700’s and started out as a simple farmhouse. In the 1790’s it became a social club and meeting hall frequented by our first President, George Washington, and his close friend, George Mason, Father of The Bill of Rights. Imagine the prestigious historical figures and ideas that could have come about in these walls! Around this same time, the main portion of the home was relocated from Broomilaw Point just east of Washington Street near Hunting Creek to its current location. In 1793, the property was purchased by a Mr. Thomas White, chief clerk for Robert E. Lee during the Civil War, and remained in his family for over 125 years. During their ownership many expansions were done and it is rumored that the handrail in the main house is made from a cherry tree that was cut from the front yard. In 1925 the home was sold and eventually made into the Old Club Restaurant which first opened its doors in the 1940’s and stayed serving Alexandria until the 1980’s when it closed for good. However in 2004, a developer had the brilliant idea to convert the building into a boutique luxury condo building and completed the project in 2008. Today, the building offers a unique and special living space in the heart of Old Town, Alexandria, full of charm, history and every convenience for modern living.
Want to know more about what it’s like to live here? Read more about our clients’ experience living in the community.